PhAze 2 Mascot The Skyship Bomber

I’m Back & Meet The Mascot

This blog isn’t dead yet though it may have seemed that way over recent months.  My apologies for leaving you all hanging.  I got a job as a copywriter back in September doing a good amount of promotional writing for newsletters and marketing materials as well as working on several bulky product catalogs.  After writing all day at work it was hard to come home and write for PhAze 2, let alone the novel I’ve been working on for several months.  But I’ve been feeling the itch to get back to blogging and I feel now is as good a time as any to give it a good scratch–especially considering my stint as a copywriter is on its own hiatus for the time being.

PhAze 2 started as a project of mine, an attempt to carve a niche for myself in the new media scene that actually helps people rather than manipulates or uses them like a lot of mainstream networks.  Covering stories, issues or topics you typically won’t see on the news that inspire and empower people to make a real difference in the world.  Challenging institutions and conventions with critical thought and illuminating questions to help equal the playing field between the individual and the corporate-political matrix.  Creating original content designed to make you think, laugh, act or engage with others positively to do my humble part in advancing society to a more conscious, aware and compassionate future.  After a lot of thought and a brief hiatus to thoroughly explore the world around me, I think I’m ready to take PhAze 2 to the next stage of its development.

This is a recent sketch of mine, titled “The Skyship Bomber.”

PhAze 2 Mascot The Skyship Bomber
Meet PhAze 2’s tentative mascot, The Skyship Bomber. Dropping insight, playing watchdog and equipping readers with inspiration and empowerment to make a real difference in this world.

 

The Skyship Bomber (“Bomber,” for short) embodies courage, independence and liberty, soaring above the clouds to survey the earth, keeping an eye on those in power and dropping insight on those who seek it.  The Skyship Bomber is a metaphor for the vessel that is this blog, providing wings of cover for those who need it while shooting down corruption or those who perpetuate it.  He is a peaceful yet forceful public defender that has a sense of humor and spunkiness to spare (just get a load of that jet pack strapped onto the tail!).

It seemed natural to make this the mascot for my blog so that’s what I’m doing.  At least temporarily.  It could be the rush of adrenaline from writing my first blog post in nearly a year or it could be the refreshed conviction I feel from writing article after article about the jewelry industry and realizing I no longer want to be a part of that industry’s marketing efforts that is causing me to feel slightly more defiant and bold than usual.  I’m not sure.  But for now it feels right so I’m going with it.

I’ll be updating the structure, layout and utilities of PhAze 2 for the next couple days until I find a combination that sticks.  And of course, I’ll be adding some new content.  I have quite a few ideas in the works that I’m excited to experiment with and launch–including a possible column reviewing TED Talks–so be sure to check back in the next several days and see what’s going on.

Thank you so much for your readership and your patience as I’m coming into my own as a blogger and producer of content.  I’m looking forward to writing more and getting to know some of you through your comments.  Discussion makes the world go ’round–between your comments and my posts, we can join in the global conversation of spreading conscious knowledge.

Now, Carpe Diem!

-bw

Leave a Reply

